Obscura - Diluvium

1. Clandestine Stars
2. Emergent Evolution
3. Diluvium
4. Mortification of the Vulgar Sun
5. Ethereal Skies
6. Convergence
7. Ekpyrosis
8. The Seventh Aeon
9. The Conjuration
10. An Epilogue to Infinity
11. A Last Farewell (Bonus Track)

Release: 13th of July 2018 | Label: Relapse Records

Germany’s progressive death metal masters OBSCURA complete their long-running, four-album conceptual circle with the release of Diluvium (defined as a great oceanic flood), their most evocative, diverse and vibrant release to date. Recorded with longtime producer V. Santura Diluvium is a stunning achievement for the illustrious quartet and a landmark release for progressive metal as a whole. Complete with all the band's signature elements plus groundbreaking polyrhythms, dramatic songwriting, and jaw-dropping virtuosity, OBSCURA raise the bar once again with an album that will go down in the annals of metal history as one of the most astonishing performances the genre has to offer.

Buy: iTunes | CD | LP



1. Sermon of the Seven Suns
2. The Monist
3. Akroasis
4. Ten Sepiroth
5. Ode to the Sun
6. Fractal Dimension
7. Perpetual Infinity
8. Weltseele
9. On the Origin of Primal Expression (bonus track)

Release: 5th of February 2016 | Label: Relapse Records

Five years since the release of the universally-acclaimed Omnivium, Germany’s progressive metal masters OBSCURA are poised to return with their strongest and most dynamic release to date. The aptly-named Akroasis (Greek for “hearing” or “listening“) draws on all the various elements of OBSCURA‘s signature sound and combines those qualities into a mind-blowing and cohesive whole.

Produced by the band and V. Santura (Triptykon, Pestilence), Akroasis is eight songs diverse enough to serve as a near-comprehensive introduction to all of extreme metal. Packed to the gills with virtuosic musicianship, compelling themes, and airtight songwriting, OBSCURA will undoubtedly breathe new life into death metal, progressive metal and beyond.

Buy: iTunes | CD | LP


'Illegimitation' Demo (2003):

01. ...and all will come to an end
02. Crucified
03. Fear
04. Immanent Desaster

'Cosmogenesis' Preproduction (2006):

05. Incarnated
06. Open the Gates
07. Headworm

Recording Session (2011):

08. Flesh and the Power it Holds (Death)
09. Piece of Time (Atheist)
10. How Could I? (Cynic)

Release: 2012 | Label: self-released

Illegimitation is OBSCURA's first ever demo collection, featuring the band's earliest recordings and brand new cover songs. As one of the first bands in extreme metal, Obscura funded this release with the concept of crowd sourced capital.
OBSCURA's very first record, 'Illegimitation' was tracked in 2003 with their long term producer V.Santura and shows the beginning of this band back in 2002. Additionally there are unreleased recordings done in 2006 after the band's first European tour with Suffocation where you'll find songs such as 'Incarnated' in it's original form. To round out this release the band recorded three songs that influenced this band since the beginning up to the present - Death - Flesh and the Power it holds, Atheist - Piece of Time and Cynic - How Could I?.

Buy: CD



01. Septuagint
02. Vortex Omnivium
03. Ocean Gateways
04. Euclidean Elements
05. Prismal Dawn
06. Celestial Spheres
07. Velocity
08. A Transcendental Serenade
09. Aevum

Release: 2011 | Label: Relapse Records

Omnivium finds the band pushing the progressive edges of the genre's sounds to new heights while delivering the technical metal that has become their calling card. The band gracefully blends brutality and beauty with complex, commanding songs played at stunningly virtuosic levels. Tracks such as album opener Septuagint, Vortex Omnivium, Euclidean Elements and Celestial Spheres are expressive and elaborate, and exude class and the confidence of a band at the peak of their abilities.

Buy: iTunes | CD | LP



01. Anticosmic Overload
02. Choir of Spirits
03. Universe Momentum
04. Incarnated
05. Orbital Elements
06. Desolate Spheres
07. Infinite Rotation
08. Noosphere
09. Cosmogenesis
10. Centric Flow

Release: 2009 | Label: Relapse Records

OBSCURA's Relapse debut Cosmogenesis is a front-to-back stroke of brilliance that seamlessly fuses modern metals extremity, the upper levels of technical virtuosity, and the symphonic grace of progressive music into a flawless album experience. The band more than justifies their impressive pedigree with what became a timeless classic in the making.

Buy: iTunes | CD | LP


01. Humankind
02. Nothing
03. Unhinged
04. None Shall Be Spared
05. Alone
06. Hymn To A Nocturnal Visitor
07. Hate Anthem
08. Exit Life
09. Sentiment
10. Sweet Silence


11. Lack of Comprehension (Death)
12. Synthetically Revived (Suffocation)
13. God of Emptiness (Morbid Angel)

Release: 2006 (Re-Release 2010) | Label: Relapse Records

Their debut Retribution is a beastly album blending the savagery of New York death metal with the fleet-fingered fretting of forerunners Death and Gorguts. Retribution documents the first steps in the journey of one of metals most crucial new bands.

Buy: iTunes | CD